Some days back I received on SMS and an Email saying that, Lays Chips (Masala Flavor) is HARAAM. On the back of the Lays chips “E631 Fat” is printed which means the oil of pig meat. And it further says that for clarification write this name on Google search and you will find the results. When I searched on Google what I found is that it is a Guinea pig fat that is being used for cooking purpose. But again there is difference of opinion. Some people say that it’s not an authentic information that E631 is really the pig fat.
Few days after this SMS and Emails I was going through the newspaper and I saw an advertisement by the Pepsi Cola Company related to Lays chips. In the advertisement it was mentioned that all the flavors of Lays are cooked in 100% vegetable oil and every ingredient is HALAL without any doubt. I must say that the concerned authority response was very quick and on time before this message have destroyed their image and cause a decline in market share. Following is the image came with the email showing Lays Package back with E631 code printed clearly.
To check, I bought a LAYS Masala pack and checked myself that there is no “E631″ code there. E627 was right there but was unable to find “E631″ anywhere on the pack. May be the above image is photoshopped/edited or of something else.
Below is the list of codes that are considered HARAAM and of course, being Muslims we should avoid all the products with these codes.
E100, E110, E120, E 140, E141, E153, E210, E213, E214, E216, E234, E252,E270, E280, E325, E326, E327, E334, E335, E336, E337, E422, E430, E431, E432, E433, E434, E435, E436, E440, E470, E471, E472, E473, E474, E475,E476, E477, E478, E481, E482, E483, E491, E492, E493, E494, E495, E542,E570, E572, E631, E635, E904.
I will call this propaganda and there is no truth in it, at least I couldn’t find.