Now you may wonder if the ball indeed bounced so high as to hit his shoulder, then it would easily be flying over the stumps. Then how come he be given out LBW?
As a matter of fact, the ball never bounced so high as to go over the stumps. The bowler wanted to bowl a bouncer but as luck would have it, the ball never took off after pitching. Sachin actually read the bouncer and the action of the bowler instantaneously. That is why he ducked down to avoid the bouncer.
As Sachin crouched, the ball hit his left shoulder and all the players went up in unison. What ensued was a doubtful decision of Sachin Tendulkar given out Shoulder Before Wicket and not Leg Before Wicket.
The bowler in question was Glenn McGrath and India was playing against Australia then.
Inzamam Ul Haq – Obstructing the field
India Pakistan matches are always thrilling wherever they may be. And if there is any controversy, it adds to that thrill of the match. This is one incident that took place in one of the one day match between these two arch rivals. Inzamam played the ball toward the mid off region and took a few steps down the wicket in his follow through.
The fielder was quick to spot it and made a throw right back on the stumps. However, the ball came directly in the batsman’s direction. He took the ball right on his bat when it seemed like it would have hit the wickets had he not stopped the ball, as the batsman was still outside his crease.
All the Indian players appealed in unison for the wicket. After some discussions, Inzamam was promptly sent back. No special thing to mention – he was not at all happy with the decision.
My final comments:
I think it is carelessness on everyone’s part. The first men to be held responsible are the on field umpires. How can any decision be given without checking with the third umpire if they have any doubts. It is up to the umpires to take the blame first. Had then confirmed about the boundary, then the ensuing scenario would never have happened.