Facebook is a social network that was created in 2004 by Mark Zuckerberg. It currently has almost 1 billion members and a website value of 50 billion dollars.
Everyday, members are allowed to share links, upload their images, post comments, and update statuses. Some of the posts that you might come across might not of been posted by the actual user.
The following rumor states that Facebook will start charging their members for accessing the website:
* IT IS OFFICIAL. IT WAS EVEN ON THE NEWS. FACEBOOK WILL START CHARGING DUE TO THE NEW PROFILE CHANGES. IF YOU COPY THIS ON YOUR WALL YOUR ICON WILL TURN BLUE AND FACEBOOK WILL BE FREE FOR YOU. PLEASE PASS THIS MESSAGE ON, IF NOT YOUR ACCOUNT WILL BE DELETED IF YOU DO NOT PAY
Facebook states, "It's free and always will be."
Beware of Scams and Clickjacking:
* See Who's Been Stalking You
* Phishing Schemes
Be extremely cautious when it comes to phishers trying to gain access to your profile. Sometimes you can receive these through your email or even a post on your page. To recognize a phishing scheme, you must always read the URL in the top address bar of your explorer. Never sign into Facebook through a link or another website without making sure it says http://www.facebook.com/ first. One a phisher tricks a user, most likely through group invitations, groups, or fake malicious pages, your profile becomes hacked.
* Koobface Worm
This worm is passed from one another through posts. Once clicked, it will prompt you to upgrade your Adobe Flash Player. Once downloaded, the malware will be installed on your computer and your profile will become hijacked. If you want to update your Adobe Flash Player, please visit their official website or update your flash player manually through your control panel.
* Fake Questionnaires
Fake Questionnaires get users to fill out personal details, sometimes this includes releasing your mobile phone number. Once a fake Questionnaire is filled out, the scammer receives a commission and you get charged.
* Malicious Rouge Applications
These applications can usually be found on users' walls in the form of a link. Once clicked, you will soon be directed to give permission to access your account. One you choose "allow" the rouge application will obtain your home address and cell phone number. The scammers will then send out SMS text messages to you and your friends, and phone solicitors. Be cautious of identity theft as well.